Yummy recipes!

Note: Yes, this is a random post, but I paid for this domain and I’m determined to use it!

Lately I’ve been busy– but not too busy to try out some delicious new recipes.  Three of them came out particularly well, so I thought I’d share my shoddy iPhone pictures and the recipes themselves!

Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

When I found this recipe on The Healthy Apron, I could not wait to try it!  I got almost all of the ingredients from Eastern Market, so it was extra delicious.  It took a long time– lots of chopping and a long time in the oven, but it was so worth it!  All of my roommates enjoyed it, and the leftover filling was pretty good by itself the next day.

Margherita Pizza

My roommate Justine and I used this super-easy Food.com recipe for margherita pizza one night last week after a game of tennis.  It was quick and we got to use basil from our backyard– two thumbs up overall.  I ended up cooking it for a bit longer after taking this picture since the dough wasn’t quite done.

Saffron Chicken, Boiled Lemon, and Green Bean Salad

My roommate Justine found this recipe and thought it sounded great since we had all but three ingredients (saffron, chicken, and green beans) on-hand.  We had NO idea that saffron is the “spice of kings” and that a small bottle would be nearly $20.  Oh well– we’re determined to do a lot of cooking with saffron now!  This Food Network recipe came out pretty yummy, but I’d say it was a little bit more effort than it was worth.

Chickpea and Spinach Tapas

My friend Heather hosted a very cute birthday celebration– each attendee was tasked with bringing a great food/drink combo, i.e., milkshakes and fries, beer and potato chips, etc.  I decided to bring along sangria and then set off to find a simple tapas recipe.  I found this recipe from Padma Lakshmi’s Easy Exotic cookbook and LOVED it.  I actually didn’t concoct it– after buying the ingredients in advance I got caught at a work event and my roommate LW threw it together for me– but it was quite simple according to her.  We served it with baguette, and it was delish!  I had the leftovers for lunch the next day and really enjoyed it.  Everyone at the party loved it too!

I forgot to snap a pic, but it looked just like this:

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment